Farewell from the Lamp

Almost two years ago, I was asked to be a part of the Lamp. I never thought that I would one day serve as editor of the student newspaper, let alone for an entire year. I have learned so much in my time at Lincoln Land and feel prepared to take the next major step in my life. As I prepare to leave, I would like to share what I have learned, and write up a quick guide for the next editor of the Lamp.

I would like to start off by thanking Tim McKenzie, for trusting me to take charge of the paper and the responsibilities that entails. It has been an honor to serve on the student newspaper. I would like to also thank my assistant editors, and all that they have done to make sure I don’t go insane over deadlines. It is very helpful to know that there are people who have my back in times of stress. Thank you to Tim’s editing classes, who worked for free to help put the paper together in record times, over and over again. It has saved us from a lot of late nights and headaches. And finally, I would like to thank all the people I have interviewed, or asked information from. I appreciate your dedication and interest in the news, regardless of how big or small the medium is.

Now, I have watered down the role of editor into what I call the ABCs of editing. A is for “always.” Nearly every responsibility of an editor, in my opinion, starts with “always.” For example, always be on time, always ask the interviewee to spell their name and always follow the deadlines. B is for busy. The role of an editor is not an easy one, and at times, it can feel as if the next edition will catch you by surprise. There are articles to write, people to interview, and stories to tell.  Finally, C is for corrections. As the name would suggest, a lot of the editor’s time will be spent reading other people’s work. If it isn’t good, don’t run the story. Fix what you can, and make sure you understand it.

I sincerely will miss all of you as I go on to Greenville University, where I am planning on earning a degree in digital media. Again, thank you to everyone who has helped the Lamp grow into the digital realm, and support student organizations. I’m not sure how to end this, so I’m going to quote a Jim Carrey movie called The Truman Show, instead: “In case I don’t see ya, good afternoon, good evening, and goodnight.”

 

Isaac Warren can be reached at lamp@llcc.edu

Leave a comment